Tuition, Fees, and Charges
Tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change. Changes will be effective upon date of enactment and will be reflected in tuition, fees, and charges assessed. Tuition, fees, and charges are authorized by state statute; however, the specific amounts and the determination to increase the fees and charges are made by The University of Texas at Arlington administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents.
Summary of Graduate Tuition, Fees, and Charges for 2002-2003 Academic Year
The following information can be used to estimate the cost of one semester's registration. A more precise total may be calculated by
accessing the Registration Cost Estimation Web site at
www.uta.edu/fees and by determining the amount of the actual college and/or course
specific fees that can be obtained in the printed or online Schedule of Classes at
Graduate students who enrolled under the summer 1999 or subsequent catalogs will be required to pay non-resident tuition rates after they have accumulated 99 doctoral hours.
| ||Texas Residents||Non-Texas Residents
|Hours||On-Campus||Distance Education Received In-State||On-Campus||Distance Education Received In-State
|Each Add'l Hour||$153.50||$153.50||$382.50||$382.50
Tuition, Fee, and Charge Descriptions
Tuition, fees, and charges are assessed to students based on
semester credit hours (SCH), a set charge per semester, or specific
services. They are either required by all students, charged to everyone
taking specific courses or anyone receiving
specific services, or charged only for voluntary products or services. The number in parentheses is
the statute number authorizing the tuition, fees, and charges.
- Graduate Resident Tuition: $88 per SCH. Set at twice the undergraduate statutory
rate by Board of Regents per statute (54.008 and 54.051). Required
- Graduate Non-Resident Tuition: $317 per SCH. Combined tuition ($306/SCH)
and Graduate Programs Enhancement Fee ($11/SCH). Set by Texas Higher Education
Coordinating Board per statute (54.008 and 54.051). Required
- Designated Tuition: $44 per SCH. Set by Board of Regents per statute (54.0513).
- Alternative TASP Remedial Charge: $75 for students who fail the TASP exam
in a particular area but do not need course-based remediation (55.16). Specific
- Application Charge: $30 to defray costs incurred in processing applications
for graduate admissions (55.16). Specific
- Audit Charge: $20 for enrolled U.T. Arlington students, $100 for non-enrolled
students to defray administrative costs of registering non-credit participants
in scheduled classes (55.16). Voluntary
- Campus and Community Involvement Records Charge: $5 for registration and
five copies ($2 for additional copies) to defray cost of establishing and
maintaining a student Campus and Community Involvement Record (55.16). Voluntary
- Career Services Charge: $25 for 10 files, $1 for each additional file to
defray costs of placement registration, software and software license fees
and services (55.16). Voluntary
- Catalog Charge: $3 ($6 if mailed) to defray costs of printing and mailing
catalogs (55.16). Voluntary
- Check Cashing Charge: $0.25 per check or 1 percent of
check amount (whichever is greater) to defray costs associated with providing
check cashing (55.16). Voluntary
- Computer and Information Technology Charge: $14 per SCH to provide for the
development of campus computer and network facilities for academic programs
- Counseling and Advising Charge: $20 per semester to defray costs of a new
counseling office in the College of Engineering (55.16). Specific
- Course Charges: $2-$500 per course in addition to required tuition, fees,
and charges to defray costs of course supplies, materials, instruments, equipment,
or individual coaching or instruction (54.051, 54.504, 55.16). See the Schedule
of Classes for exact amounts. Specific
- Credit by Examination Charge: $20-$100 per course to defray costs of course
materials and costs associated with administering and scoring the tests (55.16).
- Delinquent Accounts Receivable Charge: $10 per month to defray cost of maintaining
a unified delinquent accounts system for registration fees and charges, housing,
and fines, including mailings and referral to collection agencies (55.16).
- Distance Learning Charges: (55.16) specific
- $20-$500 per course to defray cost of providing distance learning courses
as defined by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
- Engineering Internet Charge: $75 per SCH to defray costs of producing
and offering engineering internet courses.
- TAGER Charge: $75 per SCH to defray cost of materials and operations
related to courses taught in TAGER network.
- TeleCampus Charge: $56-$213.50 to defray cost for courses offered through
the UT System TeleCampus.
- Video Tape Charge: $142 per SCH to defray costs of video tape delivery
of graduate engineering courses.
- Duplicate Diploma Charge: $20 to defray costs of duplicate diploma and diploma
cover (55.16). Voluntary
- English Tutorial Clinic Charge: $25 per course to defray costs of providing
a tutorial clinic for students enrolled in English 0300 and 0301 (55.16).
- Field Placement Insurance Charge: To defray blanket liability insurance
for students enrolled in courses requiring a practicum or field placement.
- School of Social Work: $12 per course
- Nursing Liability Fee: $61/year (fall)
- Graduate Services Charge: $24 per student to defray costs related to orientation,
mailings, advising and registration services provided to all College of Business
Administration graduate students (55.16). Specific
- Graduation Charges for Doctoral and Master's Candidates: $6.30-$50 (55.16).
Specific and Voluntary
- In Absentia: $15 to defray administrative costs of processing graduation
applications for students who are not currently enrolled.
- Dissertation and Thesis Charges (Actual costs will be charged.)
- Binding: $30 maximum
- Microfilming (Dissertation): $55 ($100 maximum)
- Microfilming (Thesis): $45 ($75 maximum)
- Copyright Registration (optional): $45 ($75 maximum)
- Mailing: $8-$45
- Personal Copies (optional): $6.50
- Late Application Fee: $50 to defray administrative costs associated
with application for graduation after the published deadline.
- Graduation Charge: $15 to defray costs of diploma, diploma cover and other
costs associated with graduation (55.16). Specific
- Health Insurance Charge: variable (to match premium for
approved U.T. System student insurance plan) to defray costs of mandatory
insurance for international students holding non-immigrant visas and living
in the United States (55.16). Specific
- ID Card Activation Charge: $10 per semester for activation of a student
ID card (55.16). Required
- ID Card Replacement Charge: $10 to defray administrative costs of reissuing
student ID cards (55.16). Specific
- Installment Tuition Handling Fee: $10 per billing ($20/semester maximum)
to cover costs related to providing installment payment option (54.007). Specific
- Instrument Users Charge: $10 - $55 per course to defray costs of replacement
and maintenance of equipment (55.16). Specific
- Intercollegiate Athletics Fee: $8.50 per SCH ($115 maximum)
for the funding of intercollegiate athletics (54.5121). Required
- International Education Fee: $1 per semester for an international education
financial aid fund to assist students participating in international student
exchange or study programs (54.5132). Required
- International Student Application Charge: $60 per student to defray costs
of the individualized credential evaluations required in international student
admission decisions (55.16). Specific
- International Student Service Charge: $50 per semester for services provided
to international students by the International Office (55.16). Specific
- Laboratory Fees: Certain laboratory courses require mandatory laboratory
fees that vary from $2 to $30 and must not exceed the cost of actual materials
and supplies used by the student. See the individual course descriptions for
exact amount (54.501). Specific
- Late Registration Charge: $25 per registrant to defray
costs associated with keeping registration open after published times (55.16).
- Library Charges: variable (see below) to defray handling costs associated
with computer searches, processing lost items, and items returned after the
due date and costs of other Library operations (54.504 & 55.16). Specific
- Overdue Charges
- Recalled Items: $2 per day ($24 maximum).
- Regular Check-Out: $0.25 per day ($25 maximum).
- Reserve Items: $1.20 per hour ($50 maximum).
- Lost or Damaged Items: $35 processing fee plus any fines accrued and
actual cost of item.
- Inter-Library Loan Late Charge: $2 per day ($50 maximum).
- Dissertation/Thesis handling: $15
- Preservation on Photo Print Orders: $4 per print.
- Special Collections Charge: $50 for 1-25 images; $100 for 26+ images.
- Special Collections Photocopy Charge: $0.15 per image for books and
bound materials; $0.25 per image for manuscripts; $0.35 per image for
- Library Service Charge: $7.50 per SCH for the enhancement of library collections
and services (55.16). Required
- Locker Rental Charge: $3-$25 to defray administrative, and lock and key
costs (55.16). Voluntary
- Math Clinic Charge: $15 per course to defray costs of providing a tutorial
clinic for students enrolled in math courses (55.16). Specific
- Medical Services Fee: $35 per semester for providing medical services to
students (54.50891). Required
- Multimedia Charge (College of Business Administration, College of Engineering,
and School of Nursing): $3 per course to defray the cost of repairing, replacing
and maintaining multimedia equipment (55.16). Specific
- Music Instrument Charge: $25 to defray costs of replacement and maintenance
of musical instruments (55.16). Specific
- Orientation Charge: $20-$25 per student to defray costs associated with
new student advising and preregistration (55.16). Specific
- Recreational Facility Fee: $9 per semester to defray the costs to finance,
construct, renovate, improve, equip and maintain recreational sports facilities
and to operate recreational programs at the University (54.5122). Required
- Registration Charge: $5 per semester to defray the costs of a telephone
and Internet registration system (55.16). Required
- Reinstatement Charge: $150 to defray processing costs and lost revenue associated
with reinstatement of a student due to failure to complete necessary financial
aspects of registration when due. Reinstatements approved on a limited basis
- Returned Check Charge: $25 per check to defray administrative
costs for reprocessing or collecting checks written on insufficient funds
(54.504 & 55.16). Specific
- Sponsored Student Charge: $200 per semester to defray costs associated with
international sponsored student advising, registration and monitoring (55.16).
- Student Service Fee: $9.60 per SCH ($115.20 maximum) to
fund student-related services such as recreational activities, student government
and organizations, and student publications (54.503). Required
- Student Union Fee: $39 per semester for finance, construction, operation
and maintenance of the student union building and its programs (54.515). Required
- Teacher Certification Deficiency Plan Charge: $25 per plan for U.T. Arlington
graduates and $35 per plan for non-U.T. Arlington graduates to defray costs
associated with the preparation and issuance of the plans (55.16). Voluntary
- Telephone Registration Facsimile Charge: $2 to defray costs associated with
providing long distance fax service within the U.S. (55.16). Voluntary
- Test Charges: $5-$125 to defray costs associated with administering and
scoring institutional/academic tests (55.16). Specific
- Transcript Charges: $5 to defray costs of retrieving, duplicating and mailing
transcripts (55.16). Voluntary
Other Fees, Charges, and Expenses
Mav Express Card Charge
As noted under Tuition, Fee, and Charge Descriptions, each
student at U.T. Arlington is required to pay a $10 Mav Express Card
activation charge for the fall, spring, and 11-week summer semesters. The
5-week summer session, Maymester, and Winter Session are $5 each. The
Mav Express Card is used for checking books from the Library, cashing
checks at the University Center or Bursar Services, as well as for admission
to various University activities such as athletic events and for other
situations requiring personal identification. As an option, a student may choose
to deposit money on the Mav Express Card. This debit feature is
called MAV M$NEY. Students may use MAV M$NEY at Dining
Services, Bursar Services, University Center, University Bookstore,
vending machines, copiers, and many other campus locations. The Mav
Express Card is a permanent card. As a student registers for a semester, the
card is automatically validated. It is not necessary to obtain an
additional Mav Express Card unless the student loses or destroys the card.
The replacement charge for a lost or destroyed card is $10.
General Property Deposit
The Texas Education Code, Section 54.502(a), directs that "an
institution of higher education may collect a reasonable deposit not
to exceed $100 from each student to insure the institution against
losses, damages, and breakage in libraries and laboratories. The deposit
shall be returned on the withdrawal or graduation of a student, less
any amount necessary to cover any loss, damage, or breakage caused
by the student." The University of Texas at Arlington shall collect
a property deposit of $10.
Deposits are refunded automatically at the end of the semester
to students who graduate or withdraw. Deposits are refunded by
request at the end of the semester to students who neither graduate nor
withdraw, but do not plan to return. Property deposits which are
dormant for four years are forfeited into the Student Deposit Scholarship Fund.
Parking Decal Charge
All students who drive to campus need a permit to park legally
on campus. During registration, students should indicate that they need
a permit for their vehicle. Students registering by telephone or
on the Web will be mailed a permit to their current University
mailing address. If students do not receive their permit by the first day
of class, they will need to pick up a pass at the University Police
Parking Office, 700 S. Davis Drive. If students withdraw from school
any time before classes begin or before the census date, they must
bring their permit to the Parking Office to receive a full/partial refund.
If the permit is not returned, a refund cannot be given and the
student is responsible for full payment. Students who lose or misplace
their permits will be charged full price for a replacement. If the
Parking Office is not notified of loss or non-receipt of a permit, the
student will be held responsible for all fees pertaining to the permit.
Students are responsible for picking up a copy of the Rules
and Regulations booklet that contains campus parking policies. The
University Police Parking Office is open 7:30 a.m.-7 p.m.
Monday-Thursday, and 7:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Fridays. Persons with disabilities will
need to provide the appropriate documentation and should obtain
their parking permits from the University Police Parking Office.
For additional parking information, call 817-272-3907 or
visit the Web site www.uta.edu/police/.
Maverick Parking Garage
2002-2003 Parking Passes*
Day Student: $350 per semester
Night Student: $140 per semester (official meeting time of all
classes must be 5:30 p.m. or later)
* In addition to the semesterly rates above, a $20 gate card deposit is required.
2003-2004 Parking Passes
Charges not available at time of printing.
Hourly parking is subject to availability on a first-come,
first-served basis. Contact the Maverick Parking Garage at 817-272-2370
for specific information.
International Student Health Insurance
International students are required to purchase The University
of Texas at Arlington Student Health Insurance Plan while enrolled
at the University. Exceptions to this requirement are:
- Coverage by the U.T. Arlington faculty/staff insurance
- Continuing coverage under a mandatory
government-sponsored health plan
- Continuing coverage under a mandatory
employer-sponsored insurance plan
Proof of coverage and benefits provided must be documented
and must be comparable to the University-sponsored plan. All
policies under the three categories of exceptions must contain at least a
$7,500 repatriation benefit and a $10,000 medical evacuation benefit.
All policies must meet USIA regulations for those in "J" status. If
coverage does not include medical evacuation and repatriation,
supplemental policies covering those items will be made available.
Tuition, Fee, and Charge Exemptions
State law provides several exemptions for tuition, fees, and
charges. Students qualified for a reduced rate in any of the following
categories must have that eligibility certified prior to registration.
These exemptions are provided in summary form. For more
information, refer to the Texas Education Code, Section 54.201 et seq.
- Non-residents may qualify for resident tuition rates if
eligibility in one of the following categories is certified prior to registration.
- Professors employed at least one-half time and
teaching/research assistants and associates employed at least
one-half time in positions that relate to their degree
programs, as well as their spouses and children as described in
section 54.059 and 54.063 of the Texas Education
- Holders of certain competitive scholarships of $1,000
per year or more awarded through The University of Texas
at Arlington scholarship committee per section 54.064 of
the Texas Education Code. The student must compete
against other students, including Texas residents, for
the scholarship. The scholarship must be awarded by
a scholarship committee officially recognized by the
U.T. Arlington administration and be approved by the
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board under
criteria developed by the board.
- Individuals or a member of a family who have located
to Texas as an employee of a business or organization
that became established in this state as part of the program
of state economic development and diversification if
such individual meets the terms and conditions set forth
in Section 54.052(h) of the Texas Education Code.
- An officer, enlisted person, selectee or draftee of the
Army Reserve, Army National Guard, Air National Guard,
Air Force, Air Force Reserve, Navy, Navy Reserve,
Marine Corps, Marine Corps Reserve, Coast Guard or Coast
Guard Reserve of the United States, who is assigned to active
duty in Texas, and the spouse and children of such an
officer, enlisted person, selectee or draftee, if they meet the
terms and conditions set forth under Section 54.058 of the
Texas Education Code.
- Individuals under 18 years of age or who are a
dependent of divorced parents if one parent is a Texas resident
under the conditions set forth in Section 54.0551 of the
Texas Education Code.
- Section 54.203 of the Texas Education Code provides that
Texas veterans and their children may qualify for exemption
from tuition and some fees and charges (not to exceed 150 hours):
- Veterans may qualify provided they:
- Had Texas resident status at the time they entered the
service and are currently on Texas resident status for
- Had active military duty (excluding training) for more
than 180 days during specified periods as defined in
Section 54.203 of the Texas Education Code.
- Are honorably discharged from active service.
- Are not eligible for Pell Grant, SEOG
(Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant), or educational
benefits under federal legislation that exceed the value of
- Children of members of the armed forces who were killed
in action, who died while in service, who are missing in
action, and whose death is documented to be directly caused by
illness or injury in connection with service in the armed forces
while on active duty as defined in section 54.203 of the
Texas Education Code may be exempt from tuition and some fees and
charges, not to exceed 150 credit hours. A person must be a citizen
of Texas and must have resided in the state for at least 12
months immediately preceding the date of the person's registration.
- Section 54.204 of the Texas Education Code provides an
exemption from tuition, mandatory fees and charges, not to exceed
120 undergraduate hours, for children of disabled firefighters
and peace officers. To qualify for this exemption, the applicant
must apply for exemption before age 21 and be a child of a (1)
full-paid or volunteer firefighter; or (2) full-paid municipal,
county or state peace officer or custodian of the Department
of Corrections or game warden disabled in the line of duty.
This exemption does not apply to general property deposits or to
fees or charges for lodging, board, or clothing, nor to any
semester beginning after the date of their 26th birthday.
- Peace officers who are permanently disabled in the line of
duty and are Texas residents may be exempt, not to exceed
12 semesters of undergraduate hours as defined in section
54.204 of the Texas Education Code.
- An exemption from tuition, mandatory fees and charges
is provided for Texas residents who are blind or whose sense
of hearing is nonfunctional as provided under Section 54.205
of the Texas Education Code.
- Students who are under 21 years of age or are 25 years of
age and receive a majority of support from a parent who has
been classified by the Defense Department as a prisoner of war
or missing in action at the time of their registration may be
exempt from tuition, mandatory fees and charges as provided by
Section 54.209 of the Texas Education Code.
- Individuals who were in foster care or other residential
care may be exempt from tuition, mandatory fees and charges
if they meet the qualifications set forth under section 54.211
of the Texas Education Code.
- Certain undergraduate students who were dependent
children receiving AFDC during their last year of public high school
in Texas may be exempt from payment of tuition, mandatory fees
and charges if they meet the terms and conditions set
forth under Section 54.212 of the Texas Education
- Senior citizens (persons age 65 or older) may enroll on a
space available basis for up to six credit hours per semester
without payment of tuition as provided in Section 54.210 of the
Texas Education Code.
- Eligible educational aides may be exempt from payment
of tuition, mandatory fees and charges, other than class
or laboratory fees, if they meet the terms and conditions set
forth under Section 54.214 of the Texas Education Code.
- Students admitted into the Early Admission Program
and simultaneously enrolled in high school and U.T. Arlington
(dual enrollment) may be exempt from payment of certain fees and charges.
- The highest ranking graduate of each accredited high
school (valedictorians) may be exempt from the payment of
tuition during both semesters of the first regular session
immediately following their graduation as provided in Section 54.201
of the Texas Education Code.
- The Employee Fee Waiver is available, per section 54.5035
of the Texas Education Code., to U.T. Arlington faculty and
staff members employed in benefits eligible positions. Any
employee with an appointment of 4.5 months or more, paid not
less than 50 percent time from any source of University funds,
and not employed in a position requiring student status as
a condition of employment is eligible for this fee waiver.
- The surviving spouse or child of certain public employees
killed in the line of duty may be eligible for the exemption of
tuition, mandatory fees and charges (not to exceed a bachelor's
degree or 200 hours), qualified room and board, and textbooks
as defined in Section 615.0225 of the Government
In Absentia Registration Fee
A candidate for a degree who has completed all requirements
for graduation by the last date to qualify for in
absentia registration (see Graduate School calendars) and who needs to register in
the University for the sole purpose of having a degree conferred
may register in absentia with permission of the Graduate Advisor and
the Dean of Graduate Studies. To obtain permission, the student
should file a Request to Register in Absentia. A student registered
in absentia may not enroll for courses. The in
absentia registration fee is $15; no refund is made for the cancellation of an
in absentia registration. In addition to paying the cost of
in absentia registration, the candidate must file an application for graduation and pay the diploma fee
for the semester of graduation.
Academic Common Market
The Academic Common Market is an interstate agreement
for sharing academic programs through an exchange of students
across state lines. Fifteen southern states take part in the Academic
Common Market. Texas and Florida participate at the graduate level
only. Selected out-of-state programs that are not offered in a student's
home state can be accessed through the Academic Common Market at
in-state tuition rates.
For information on the graduate programs at The University
of Texas at Arlington that are available through the Academic
Common Market and the states that have access to those programs, contact
the Graduate School or the Academic Common Market coordinator
in the home state.
Further information on the Academic Common Market may
be obtained from the Texas State Coordinator for the
Academic Common Market: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board,
P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas, 78711. Phone: 512-427-6525.
Payment of Tuition, Fees, and Charges
Your registration will be billed on a "Registration Account"
statement approximately one month before the beginning of the
semester and due prior to the first class day. Students who register close
to the first class day will be billed each night as they register but
should not wait until they receive their statement to pay.
- Minimum Payment Requirement: If your tuition, fees
and charges increase for any reason, such as residency status
changes or schedule adjustments, you must pay your new
total, as well as all past due amounts, prior to the payment due date.
Your amount due can be obtained through the following sources:
- Kiosk, located in the basement of Davis Hall
- SAM, call 817-272-2726 and choose menu option
#2/Billing and Payment Services
- Bursar Services, Rm. 130 Davis Hall or Ste. 120
University Center, 817-272-2172
- Payment Incentive: A $25 Late Registration Access Fee
waiver will be awarded to all students whose payment is received
and posted to their account prior to the payment due date.
- Withdrawal for Non-Payment: Your required payment must
be received and posted to your account prior to the census date
to avoid withdrawal for non-payment and resulting penalties.
- It is the student's responsibility to withdraw from the
University prior to the first official university class day if they wish to
avoid financial obligations. Students will not be automatically
dropped for non-attendance by the academic department. Failure to
make payment or stopping payment on a check for registration
fees does not release financial obligation. Please refer to the
current Schedule of Classes for the appropriate withdrawal
- Other University charges, such as loans, housing, library
fines, etc., are billed on a separate "Campus Life Account"
statement at the beginning of each month.
Visit www.uta.edu/fees for information on due dates,
deadlines, penalties and fee refunds.
Failure to pay a debt owed to the University will be reported
to national credit bureaus and subject to collection efforts as
allowed by law.
Payment Options and Locations
The University accepts cash, checks, traveler's checks,
money orders, and the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa,
Discover, and American Express. Any form of payment (check, electronic
bank draft, or credit card) that is returned unpaid can result in
enrollment withdrawal and additional penalties.
- Web: Pay by credit card or electronic bank draft from
your checking or savings account at
www.uta.edu/makepayment. Please allow two days for payment processing.
- Phone: Credit card payments can be made through SAM,
the university's telephone registration system, 817-272-2726.
- Mail: Check, traveler's check, or money order payments may
be mailed, along with your payment stub, in the envelope
provided in your monthly statement. If you have not received
your statement, mail payment to Bursar Services, Box
19649, Arlington TX 76019-0649. Please include your student
ID number when paying by check, traveler's check or money
order. Do not mail cash.
- 24-Hour Drop Box: Check, travelers check, or money
order payments may be placed in the drop box located just inside
the North entrance of Davis Hall. Please include your student
ID number when paying by check, traveler's check or money order.
- In Person: All forms of payment mentioned above, other
than electronic bank draft, can be made in person at Bursar
Services, Rm. 130 Davis Hall or Ste. 120 University Center.
- Installment Payment Option: (Available in Fall and
Spring semesters) The Installment Payment Option is available to
all students and chosen by paying at least one half of your total
current semester account before classes begin. Prior semester
registration must be paid in full. The remaining balance will be billed on
your Registration Account in two equal amounts. The service
charge for choosing this option is $10 for each installment (max $20
per semester) and will be added to your Registration Account.
Note: The following quotation from Texas Education
Code 54.007 applies to installment payments due: "A student
who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including
any incidental fees, by the due date may be prohibited
from registering for classes until full payment is made. A
student who fails to make payment prior to the end of the
semester may be denied credit for the work done that semester."
- Financial Aid: Please read the Financial
Aid section of this catalog or visit
www2.uta.edu/fao/ for information.
- Enrollment Loans: Loans are offered only if funds are
available and the borrower meets underwriting requirements.
Prepayment of a $25 Loan Origination Fee is required. A transcript
and enrollment hold is placed on all students when loans
are disbursed, and remains in place until the loan is repaid in
full. Ordinarily, loans are not granted to students who have
defaulted on previous loans. Loans must be requested in person at
Davis Hall or U.C. Bursar Services. Refer to the Schedule of
Classes published each semester for specified times.
Questions may be directed to Bursar Services, 817-272-2172.
Cooperative Programs Between University of Texas System Components
A student concurrently enrolling at two or more University
of Texas System components may register and pay tuition, fees,
and charges for all courses through the student's home institution.
Detailed procedures may be obtained from the registrar of the
student's home institution. The concurrent enrollment agreement and
waiver of specified fees and charges applies only to students following
the concurrent enrollment procedures specified by the registrar of
the home institution.
The charges for the following will be assessed and collected at
the home institution for the other institution(s):
- Tuition at an appropriate rate
- Applicable laboratory fees and special course charges
- Designated tuition at the appropriate rate
- Any other fees and charges that are required at the host
institution that are not charged at the home institution
Student services at the second institution will be made
available to concurrently enrolled students paying the appropriate student
service fees at the second institution.
Some institutions have a reciprocal agreement for honoring
parking permits. Details may be obtained from the police
departments on each campus.
Concurrently enrolled students should report any problems
concerning registration, payment of tuition, fees, and charges or other
matters related to concurrent enrollment procedures to the registrar of
the home institution.
Concurrent students wishing to add or drop courses must do
so in compliance with the host institution's policy. On or before
the host institution's Census Date, adds or drops may be done
through the home institution's registrar. After the Census Date, drops
must be done at the host institution.
Resident classifications are determined in accordance with Title
19, Chapter 21, Subchapter B of the Texas Administrative
Code and the rules of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
for determining residence status. Except as specifically provided by
law, an individual classified as a non-resident student must pay
tuition, fees, and charges required of non-resident students. Students may
access the Coordinating Board's rules at www.thecb.state.tx.us/CBRules/.
An independent individual 18 years of age or older who moves
to Texas and is gainfully employed in Texas for 12 months prior
to enrolling in an institution of higher education is entitled
to classification as a resident student unless the individual is in
Texas for some purpose other than establishing residence in the state.
A student enrolling in an institution of higher education prior to
having lived in Texas for 12 months immediately preceding the time
of enrollment will be classified as a nonresident student.
The residence of a dependent who is under 18 years old is
generally the residence of the parent with whom the individual lives.
The residence of a dependent 18 years of age or older is the residence
of the parent who claims the individual as a dependent for federal
income tax purposes.
After living in Texas for at least 12 months, a nonresident
student may be reclassified as a resident student if business and personal
facts or actions are unequivocally indicative of a fixed intention to
reside permanently in Texas. A nonresident student classification is
presumed to be correct as long as the residence of the individual in Texas
is primarily for the purpose of attending an educational institution.
Students claiming resident status must provide documentation
to confirm that they have a legal right to be classified as resident
students. Students must affirm under oath that they are entitled to be
classified as residents for purposes of tuition. Foreign students living in the
United States under a visa permitting permanent residence, aliens who
are permitted by Congress to adopt the United States as their
domicile while they are in this country, and individuals who obtain
permanent resident status while in Texas have the same privilege of qualifying
for Texas resident status for tuition purposes as do U.S. citizens.
Generally, a student attending The University of Texas at
Arlington who is not classified as a resident student will be charged
non-resident tuition. Certain nonresident students, however, are entitled to
pay tuition and other fees required of Texas residents. For
example, military personnel assigned to duty in Texas, and their spouses
and dependent children, are entitled to pay the same tuition as a
Texas resident if certain documentation is provided. Similarly, students
who hold a competitive academic scholarship of $1,000 per year or
more awarded through The University of Texas at Arlington are entitled
to pay resident fees and charges. Other exceptions to the
requirement that nonresident students pay nonresident tuition, fees, and
are included in the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
rules for determining residence status.
The responsibility of registering under and maintaining the
proper residence classification rests on the student. If there is any
question concerning the student's classification at the time of registration,
or any time thereafter, it is the student's obligation to consult with
the residence advisor in the Graduate School and have the
student's classification officially determined. All requests for
reclassification should be submitted to the Graduate School at least 30 days prior
to the registration period in question.
Residency appeals are made to the Residency Appeals
Committee. Decisions of the committee are final.
Audit of Student's Schedule and Fee Audit Adjustments
All adds, drops and other registration adjustments through
the Census Date each semester will cause an immediate, automatic
fee recalculation. All withdrawals once classes begin as well as
add/drops or tuition adjustments done after the Census Date will be
computer audited approximately six weeks into the semester in the fall
and spring, sooner in the short semesters. At that time, the
appropriate charges or credits will be added to the student's registration
account. Refunds will be applied to any University charges, with any
remaining balance being mailed to the student.
Total Withdrawal from School
A student who officially withdraws through the
Student Administration section of the Registrar's Office will receive a
refund according to the schedule below.
1. A student who withdraws prior to the first class day
will receive a 100 percent refund.
2. If the foregoing condition is not met, then the refund shall
be as shown below.*
Fall and Spring Semesters
During class days 1 through 5 80%
During class days 6 through 10 70%
During class days 11 through 15 50%
During class days 16 through 20 25%
After 20th class day no refund
During class days 1 through 3 80%
During class days 4 through 6 50%
After sixth class day no refund
On first class day 80%
On second class day 50%
After second class day no refund
* Class days noted are official University class days.
They are not the individual student's class meeting days.
3. Parking refunds must be applied for separately at the
Parking Office, 700 S. Davis Drive.
Return of Title IV Aid Funds
Effective with the fall semester of 2000, a federally
mandated statutory schedule must be used to determine the amount of
federal aid funds students have earned when they cease attendance based
on the period the students were in attendance. The amount of
federal aid earned is the percentage of federal aid that has been
earned, multiplied by the total amount of federal aid that was disbursed
for the period. Any funds this pro-rata schedule show to be
unearned must be returned to the aid programs by the students. This
schedule will be used until 60 percent of the period has passed, after which
all aid funds will be considered to have been earned.
Dropping Course(s) but Continuing Enrollment
All the additional costs that apply to courses dropped before
the Census Date, when the student continues enrollment in
other course(s), will be refunded.
Payment of Refunds
Enrollment withdrawal refunds cannot be made until
a computerized audit of tuition, fees and charges has been
performed; thus, refunds normally cannot be issued until approximately six
weeks after a semester begins in the fall and spring semesters, sooner
in short semesters. Refunds are credited to the student's
registration account, with any residual mailed to the student's designated
mailing address. For your convenience, direct deposit of your refund
is available. Contact Bursar Services for information.
Refunds for recipients of certain types of financial aid
administered through the University will be applied to the accounts from
which the funds were received, as directed by the Financial Aid Office.
Inquiries concerning refunds should be directed to Bursar
Services, Room 130, Davis Hall, 817-272-2172.